July 16, 2024

Gabbing Geek

Your online community for all things geeky.

Secret Empire Reading Order (Updated 8/2)

A slow week for tie-ins, with just two. But what about X-Men: Gold #9?

If you’ve read any X-Men comics or seen an X-Men movie since, well, 1963, you know that confusing timelines and continuity are par for the course.

The last two issues of X-Men: Gold have quite clearly taken place during Secret Empire.  And very early on in the crossover at that.  An event in those issues stamp it as overlapping with Secret Empire #0.  Which is all well and good.  Where my one eyebrow raised in a look of Vulcan perplexity was the release of today’s X-Men: Gold #9, which is not a Secret Empire tie-in.  To confirm, I picked it up and had a look through it.  It definitely does not take place in a Hydra run America.

This got me to scour back over the previous two issues to see if this made any sense.  And finally on the last page of issue 8 I found a caption that I must have glossed over before.  Paraphrasing, that last page takes place “days later” after the end of Secret Empire.  Which is not a big deal, unless you are like me and think about things too much.

It’s established that issue 7 takes place concurrently with Secret Empire #0.  The events in issue 7-8 can’t span more than a night or so.  And then we have the “days later” caption for that final page and beyond.  Which all implies that Secret Empire takes place within a week or less.  Nowhere else has that sort of timeline been established, and I get the feeling there are even possibly months between Secret Empire #0 and #1.

I know this is a minor thing that Tom Kelly would tell me not to think about, and even the editor of the X-books writes on the letters page that the tie-ins are more of a nod to what is going on than actually being involved.  But, it’s just one of those things.  So in long, you don’t need to read X-Men: Gold #9.

As for this weeks actual tie-ins, they’re a bit tricky in their own right.  Avengers #10 has no definitive cues about when it occurs outside of having to be after Secret Empire #0 and the Free Comic Book Day issue.  I’ll stick it on the end for now, but I have a feeling that it could move based on subsequent issues.  It definitely feels like it should be earlier.

Champions #10 seemed like it would be a breeze to place as an editor’s note states that it takes place during Secret Empire #2.  Which it kinda sorta does.  The problem actually comes from the fact that it has to come after the Patriot story in Secret Empire: Brave New World #2, which seemed to be after/during Secret Empire #2 as well.  So I juggled things a little and moved Secret Empire: Brave New World #2 up before Secret Empire #2 and then placed Champions #10 right after it.  The beginning of Secret Empire #2 is basically told in flashback anyway, and these issues work better when closer to the end of Secret Empire #1.  Doing this makes the Deadpool issues a little clunky, but they have to take place after Secret Empire #1.

  1. Road To Secret Empire [Trade]
  2. Captain America: Sam Wilson #21 [Unbranded]
  3. Uncanny Avengers #22 [Unbranded]
  4. Captain America: Steve Rogers #15 [Unbranded]
  5. Deadpool #31
  6. U.S. Avengers #5 [Opening Salvo]
  7. Thunderbolts #12 [Opening Salvo]
  8. Captain America: Steve Rogers #16 [Opening Salvo]
  9. Secret Empire #0
  10. Mighty Captain Marvel #5
  11. Uncanny Avengers #24
  12. Uncanny Avengers #25
  13. Ultimates2 #7
  14. Amazing Spider-Man #29
  15. U.S. Avengers #6
  16. X-Men: Gold #7
  17. X-Men: Gold #8
  18. Secret Empire: Brave New World #3 (Daily Bugle and Starbrand stories)
  19. Secret Empire Free Comic Book Day 2017
  20. U.S.Avengers #7
  21. U.S.Avengers #8
  22. Amazing Spider-Man #30
  23. Avengers #9
  24. Mighty Captain Marvel #6
  25. Mighty Captain Marvel #7
  26. All-New Guardians of the Galaxy Annual (2017)
  27. Secret Empire: Brave New World #1 (Invaders story)
  28. Secret Empire: Brave New World #2 (Invaders story)
  29. Secret Empire: Brave New World #3 (Invaders story)
  30. Secret Empire: Brave New World #4 (Invaders story)
  31. Secret Empire: Brave New World #1 (Giant Man and Gwenpool stories)
  32. Champions #10
  33. Secret Warriors #1
  34. Secret Warriors #2
  35. Secret Warriors #3
  36. Secret Warriors #4
  37. Occupy Avengers #8
  38. Occupy Avengers #9
  39. Secret Empire: Brave New World #4 (Misty Knight and Emma Frost stories)
  40. Secret Empire #1
  41. Secret Empire: Brave New World #2 (Patriot story)
  42. Champions #11
  43. Deadpool #32
  44. Deadpool #33
  45. Deadpool #34
  46. Secret Empire #2
  47. Captain America: Sam Wilson #22
  48. Captain America: Steve Rogers #17
  49. Secret Empire #3
  50. Secret Empire: Uprising #1
  51. Doctor Strange #21
  52. Doctor Strange #22
  53. Doctor Strange #23
  54. Captain America: Sam Wilson #23
  55. Secret Empire #4
  56. Captain America: Steve Rogers #18
  57. X-Men: Blue #7
  58. X-Men: Blue #8
  59. Secret Empire: United #1
  60. Secret Empire: Underground #1
  61. Secret Empire: Brave New World #2 (Hydra Bob story)
  62. Secret Empire #5
  63. Secret Empire #6
  64. Secret Empire #7
  65. Captain America: Sam Wilson #24
  66. Captain America: Steve Rogers #19
  67. Avengers #10

That’s it for now.  If anywhere along the way you spot anything missing or incorrect or are wondering why I placed something where I did, feel free to use the comments below or message me directly.