November 27, 2022

Gabbing Geek

Your online community for all things geeky.

New Guardians Of The Galaxy Mix Tape? James Gunn Is Not A Fan

cosmicmixThe Guardians of the Galaxy cartoon has revealed its first soundtrack compilation and the film’s director doesn’t like it.  While the first two episodes are set to premiere on September 26 on Disney X D, the soundtrack itself won’t come out until October 16 according to Marvel.  This hasn’t stopped Marvel from revealing the full compilation–and since all the songs are from the 70s it doesn’t make one bit of sense to delay the soundtrack but whatevs.

Asked for his opinion on the soundtrack, the brilliant James Gunn who gave us the first movie tweeted his disappointment.

Check out the full list after the break.

The twelve songs appearing in Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy: Cosmic Mix Vol. 1 (Music from the Animated Television Series) are:

  1. “Hooked On a Feeling” – Blue Swede
  2. “Funk No. 49” – The James Gang
  3. “Drift Away” – Dobie Gray
  4. “Walk Away” – The James Gang
  5. “Boys Are Back in Town” – Thin Lizzy
  6. “Shake Your Groove Thing” – Peaches and Herb
  7. “Funk Funk” – Cameo
  8. “Joy to the World” – Three Dog Night
  9. “I Will Survive” – Gloria Gaynor
  10. “Rocky Mountain Way” – Joe Walsh
  11. “So You Are a Star” – Hudson Brothers
  12. “Don’t Stop Me Now” – Queen

Way back in episode 25 of the Gabbing Geek podcast, we each predicted two songs that would appear on the soundtrack for the second Guardians film.  The good news?  None of our songs are on this list that James Gunn doesn’t like.  The bad news, for Jenny?  “Don’t Stop Believing” by Journey still won’t be on that soundtrack.


%d bloggers like this: